Website permissions

This post is also available in: 日本語 Español Français Nederlands

Permissions in Vivaldi

  • Location
  • Camera
  • Microphone
  • Motion sensors
  • Notifications
  • JavaScript
  • Flash
  • Images
  • Pop-ups and redirects
  • Intrusive or misleading ads
  • Background sync
  • Sound
  • Automatic downloads
  • MIDI devices
  • USB devices
  • File editing
  • Unsandboxed plugin access
  • Clipboard
  • Payment Handlers

Only a few are allowed by default, some are blocked outright and as for the rest, your permission will be asked every time a new site wants access to any of the options listed above.


Changing website permissions per website

When a website needs access, for example, to your camera, a notification dialog will be displayed below the right side of the Address Field. Make a decision to either allow or deny the website permission to access your camera. Vivaldi will remember when you deny permission and will block the website from asking you the same question again.

Website permission notification

In case the dialog closed before you could decide, click on the permission icon to the right of the Address Bar (the one with the red mark on the image above) to display it again.

To change multiple permissions per site, open the Site info icon Site Info menu from the left side of the Address Field and go to Site Settings. There you can also Reset permissions for the website.


Changing website permissions globally

To control some website permissions globally, open Settings > Webpages > Default Permissions. Then decide whether sites should ask before giving permission, should always be allowed or should be blocked by default.

Website permission settings

To see and edit the list of websites you’ve given or denied permissions, open chrome://settings/content. Even though we use Chrome’s interface and link, the settings are for Vivaldi.

Click on All Sites to view permissions per site or click on each of the permissions to see which sites are allowed or blocked. To remove a website from the list, click on the Delete button Delete button on the right side. Then, if the permission is set to Ask, you’ll be asked for permission again next time you visit the site.

 


Further Reading

Website permissions and third-party services in Vivaldi

 

Was this page helpful?