Add and manage mail accounts

This post is also available in: 日本語 Español

Enable the mail client

To use Vivaldi Mail, make sure you’ve enabled Mail, Calendar and Feeds from Settings > General > Productivity Features. On a brand new installation or in a new User Profile, choose the “Fully Loaded” option in the welcome flow.

Add an account

To add your first mail account to Vivaldi Mail:

  1. Go to Mail settings, either by:
    •  Opening the Mail Panel and clicking on Add Mail Account,
    •  Clicking on the Mail button on the Status Bar, or
    •  Going to Settings > Mail > Mail Accounts.
  2. Enter your email address, select whether you want to add an IMAP (recommended) or POP account, and click Continue.
    Vivaldi will try to fetch the server settings automatically. If it can’t, please add them manually. To find the server settings, check your email service provider’s help documentation.
  3. Enter your mail account’s login password or in Gmail’s case, follow instructions by Google in the popup window.
  4. Once the account has been added you can add the sender name and email signature.
  5. You can also enable prefetching full messages (download the message and attachments from the mail servers even before opening the email), offline accounts and double check server settings.

To add more mail accounts:

  1. Go to Settings > Mail > Mail Accounts;
  2. Click on Add button Add account below the list of already added mail accounts.
  3. Enter your email address, select whether you want to add an IMAP (recommended) or POP account, and click Continue.
  4. Enter your mail account’s login password or in Gmail’s case, follow instructions by Google in the pop up window.

Google OAuth

In addition to logging you in to Mail and Calendar, with Google OAuth you’ll be logged in to your Google account everywhere else in the browser profile, where you have a Google service open (e.g. YouTube open in a Tab). If you don’t want this, there are three options:

Option 1 – Separate profile with OAuth

You can add a new User Profile specifically for Mail and Calendar to keep everything separated. Then you can simply carry on using OAuth and it won’t leak into your other profiles. You can find more detailed instructions here.

Option 2 – With two-factor authentication

For this to work you will need to set up an App Password in your Google account settings. You have to have two-factor authentication set up as well.

Option 3 – Without two-factor authentication

Alternatively, you can go to myaccount.google.com/lesssecureapps and allow access to ‘less secure’ apps to use your normal password.

IMAP vs POP3

With IMAP (Internet Mail Access Protocol), your emails and email folders are kept on the server. Any changes you make in the mail client will reflect on the server and vice versa. You can add your mail account using IMAP to as many mail clients as you need and also access your mail from the email service provider’s webmail interface.

With POP3 (Post Office Protocol version 3) the mail client downloads and stores your emails on the computer as soon as they arrive to the mail server and then generally deletes them from the servers. Vivaldi doesn’t delete the messages on the server automatically, but you can enable it in Settings > Mail > Mail Accounts > select account > Server settings.

Prefetch full messages

When you enable message prefetching for a mail account, all content of your messages will be indexed in the mail database even before you open the message. Prefetching improves search results and lets you easily access your messages offline.


Edit an account

To update the name, signature, password or check the account’s server settings:
1. Go to Settings > Mail > Mail Accounts;
2. Select the account you want to edit;
3. Update the information.

Changes will be saved automatically.


Delete an account

  1. To remove your mail account from Vivaldi Mail:
  2. Go to Settings > Mail > Mail Accounts;
  3. Select the account from the list;
  4. Click on Delete mail account button.
  5. Decide whether you want to keep the messages on the computer or not.
  6. Click Delete.

Was this page helpful?