History
This post is also available in:
The History tool in Vivaldi is somewhat different than in a typical browser – instead, Vivaldi’s History is a detailed overview backed by statistics and presented in a fresh, visual way. It was built to give users a powerful and useful tool to explore their browsing patterns and to make finding previously visited sites easier than ever.

Accessing History
To open the History page:
- Click on History on the top menu of the Start Page (vivaldi://startpage).
- Go to
Vivaldi menu > Tools > History. - Enter vivaldi://history in the Address Field.
- Type “History” in Quick Commands.
- Middle-click on the
History Panel button. - Use the Keyboard Shortcut Ctrl H / ⌘ Y.
- Create a Mouse Gesture for opening the History manager.
Searching visited pages
To search specific History entries, enter the page’s title or URL in one of the following places:
- History Manager’s search field in the top left corner of the page.
- History Panel‘s search field at the top of the panel.
- In the Address Field, type “@history” followed by a space and your search keyword to see results only from History.
Delete browsing history
Clearing browsing data can be done from the History page by clicking the
Clear Browsing Data button in the top-right of the History page.
Alternatively, open the Delete Browsing Data window:
- From
Vivaldi menu > Tools > Delete Browsing Data. - By clicking the
Clear Browsing Data button in the top-right corner of the History Panel. - By typing “Delete Browsing Data” in Quick Commands.
- Using the Keyboard Shortcut Ctrl Shift Del / ⇧ ⌘ ⌫.
- Creating a Mouse Gesture for the action.

Select:
- The time range
- Past Hour
- Past Day
- Past Week
- Past 4 Weeks
- Everything
- Which elements of the stored browsing data to delete
- And confirm by clicking Delete.

History Retention
You can decide for how long your browsing history is saved in Vivaldi.
To review and change the time:
- Go to Settings > Privacy and Security > Privacy > Save Browsing History.
- Choose between:
- Session Only – meaning your history will be deleted every time you exit the browser.
- One Day
- One Week
- One Month
- Three Months (the default)
- Six Months
- One Year
- Forever
- Restart the browser.
Privacy
History data is strictly private and stored locally to individual Vivaldi installations – Vivaldi Technologies does not collect any History data from browser users. Find out more about Vivaldi’s Privacy policies and terms here.