IMPORTANT This article is for advanced users. Following the steps described here will result in losing all your Vivaldi data (Notes, Bookmarks, Web Panels, etc.) and settings, such as cache, history, themes and so on.

If you want to continue and fully reset Vivaldi, please make sure you have a backup of your data before you proceed.

How to reset Vivaldi settings

  1. Go to vivaldi://about or to the Help menu > About Vivaldi.
  2. Make a note of the directory listed under *Profile Path:*, minus *Default*.
  3. Close Vivaldi.
  4. Open a system window (Finder or Explorer)
  5. Go to the Vivaldi folder.
  6. Delete the entire Vivaldi folder.
  7. Restart Vivaldi.

If you have completed the steps successfully, you will see the “Welcome to Vivaldi” screen as you start Vivaldi.

Vivaldi Welcome Screen

Backup Vivaldi data

You can backup some key elements of your Vivaldi setup, such as preferences, profile and settings. Most of the key components are stored within the “Default” folder, though you should also retain the “First Run” file stored alongside it. Deleting this file will make Vivaldi assume it is starting up for the first time.

Overview of Vivaldi's folders

Here are some of the key elements stored under the Default folder:

Bookmarks – contains bookmarks and information from Speed Dials.
Notes – notes taken in the Notes Panel.
Sessions –  saved tabs sessions.
Login Data – website passwords. Note: This file is encrypted and is only usable on the machine that created it.
Preferences and Local App Settings\mpognobbkildjkofajifpdfhcoklimli – Vivaldi settings and configuration.
Web Data – autofill data.
Current Session – data on open tabs.
Top Sites – thumbnails.
History – website history.
Cookies – website data.
Extension Rules, Extension State, Extensions, Local Extension Settings, Local Storage, Managed Extension Storage, Extension Cookies and Secure Preferences – all extension preferences and extension data are stored here.