With the synchronisation function you can synchronise your Vivaldi browser data across multiple devices. Continue reading to learn how to:
- Get started;
- Sync your browser data;
- Connect another device;
- Stop syncing;
- Delete your browser data.
And what to do, when you want to change or reset your:
We’ve also listed some additional resources at the end of the article.
Accessing Sync Settings
First, log in to your Vivaldi account with your account’s username and login password.
Your login password is sent to our servers over a secure connection and a hash of it is stored in our database.
You also need to pick an encryption password that is used for encrypting your data. Your encryption password is used locally on your computer for encrypting the data you’re about to send to our servers and to decrypt the received data. Your encryption password is never sent to us or any other third party, which ensures that we cannot decrypt your data. This also means that even if someone should get access to your account’s username and login password, it’s impossible for them to find out the encryption password, unless you yourself have shared it with them.
If you don’t use an encryption password, your Vivaldi account’s login password will be used instead. This is strongly discouraged because it means you are encrypting with a password you are also occasionally sending over the Internet and is thus more vulnerable to attacks.
Currently, Vivaldi supports synchronisation of the following items:
- Bookmarks and Speed Dials;
- Some Settings (more will be added in the future);
- Stored webpage Passwords;
- Stored autofill information;
- Typed History and remote sessions (only typed URLs for history at the moment);
- Notes (partially, without attachments).
Sync User Profiles
The data to be synced is encrypted end-to-end
The data you send us is encrypted on your computer using a password that is never sent to us. In addition, the servers on which your encrypted data is stored are well protected from intrusion both physically and from the network.
When syncing, the encrypted data is sent to a central server, from which it can be requested from all other Vivaldi instances only by the same user. When one Vivaldi instance sends new data to the Sync server, a notification is immediately sent to all other Vivaldi instances to let them know that they can download this new information. This means you should see changes reflected within a minute.
Vivaldi stores Sync data on its own servers in Iceland. If you want to know more about how we handle your synced data please visit Sync’s Privacy Page.
Connecting another device
To connect another device to Sync:
- Open Sync Settings;
- Log in;
- Enter the encryption password;
- Start syncing.
With bigger profiles, the first sync between newly connected devices can take some time to finish.
Most data, like Bookmarks and Notes, will be put to their respective locations, but to access the tabs that you have open in another Vivaldi instance (Remote session), look for the Remote Sessions button on the Tab Bar, next to Recently Closed Tabs.
When you log in or enable synchronisation of some data type, your local data is merged and re-associated with what exists on the server. This is done in a way that ensures you won’t lose any data. Some things like Bookmarks can be moved to match the location the server believes they are in.
When you make changes to synced data on one client, Sync will check the servers for updates, download any new data and upload the changes you just made. It will also try to notify all desktop clients about the update, so they could download it.
When you choose to stop syncing some types of data, the browser forgets all association between your local data and the data located on the Sync server. All your data remains on the Sync server as it was. When you explicitly log out from Sync, the same happens for all the synced data. Please note that quitting the browser does not log you out from Sync.
Delete synced data
To delete synced data from the servers:
- Open Sync Settings;
- Make sure you’re logged in;
- Click on Reset Remote Data.
If, in addition to clearing the data and logging out of Sync, you’re also thinking of deleting your Vivaldi account, please note that when the account is deleted, you will also lose access to all other Vivaldi Community services such as webmail, forum, and blogs and all the data will be deleted. If you still wish to proceed, follow the instructions on our help page about deleting Vivaldi accounts.
Change or reset your account login password
If you wish to change your login password, log in on Vivaldi.net, go to your profile (top right corner) and change it there. In case you’ve forgotten your password, send yourself a password reset email. Note that if you have chosen to use the same password for login and encryption, changing your login password will not automatically change your encryption password and you will have to do this separately.
Change or reset your encryption password
If you’ve forgotten your encryption password or want to change it:
- Open Sync Settings;
- Log into your Vivaldi account;
- Click on the I Lost My Password button;
- In the pop up, click on Clear Sync Data;
- Then Start Sync again and enter a new password.
Your data will be deleted from Vivaldi’s Sync servers and re-uploaded from the computer you’re using once you enter a new password. In case the synced data isn’t stored locally on any devices (e.g. after a OS reset), the synced data will unfortunately be lost when resetting the encryption password.
- Help Page: Troubleshoot Sync issues
- Sync on Android
- Sync (privacy statement)
- Sync hits Vivaldi Stable
- Sync is here, help us test it
- Sync: Status update
Check the help page for Troubleshooting Sync issues and file a bug report if necessary. The forum is a also great place for getting answers to your questions. And you can contact us, describing the issue in as much detail as possible.