Sync data across devices

This post is also available in: 日本語 Русский Español Português Français Nederlands Српски Dansk

Sync bookmarks, passwords, open tabs and more between your desktop and mobile devices by logging-in to your Vivaldi Account.

Important! Sync is not meant to be used as a data backup service. If the data is not stored locally on any devices, we can’t guarantee you’ll be able to restore the data on a later date.

Getting started

To use Sync, you need to have a Vivaldi account.
If you don’t have an account yet, sign up here.


Logging in to Sync

To log in to Sync on Vivaldi Mobile:

  1. Tap on the Vivaldi menu button Vivaldi menu in the top right corner, next to the Address Field;
  2. Select Settings > Sync.
  3. Enter your login credentials, add a Device Name (if you wish) and tap on Log in.
  4. Enter the Encryption password and tap on Continue.

If it’s your first time using Sync, you need to create the encryption password that is used for encrypting your data. The password needs to be at least 12 characters long and we recommend using a password that’s different from your login password. Your encryption password is used locally on your computer for encrypting the data you’re about to send to our servers and to decrypt the received data. Your encryption password is never sent to us or any other third party, which ensures that we cannot decrypt your data. This also means that even if someone should get access to your account’s username and login password, it’s impossible for them to find out the encryption password, unless you yourself have shared it with them.


Syncing on Mobile

Like on the desktop browser, you can select whether to Sync all data or just some of it.

Types of data that can be synced:

To start Sync, tap on Start Sync.

Sync settings page

The first Sync, especially with big profiles, can take some time, so you might need to wait a little for all the synced data to appear on your mobile device.


The data to be synced is encrypted end-to-end

The data you send us is encrypted on your computer using a password that is never sent to us. In addition, the servers on which your encrypted data is stored are well protected from intrusion both physically and from the network.

When syncing, the encrypted data is sent to a central server, from which it can be requested from all other Vivaldi instances only by the same user. When one Vivaldi instance sends new data to the Sync server, a notification is immediately sent to all other Vivaldi instances to let them know that they can download this new information. This means you should see changes reflected within a minute.

Vivaldi stores Sync data on its own servers in Iceland. If you want to know more about how we handle your synced data please visit Sync’s Privacy Page.


Stop syncing

When you choose to stop syncing some types of data, the browser forgets all association between your local data and the data located on the Sync server. All your data remains on the Sync server as it was. When you explicitly log out from Sync, the same happens for all the synced data. Please note that quitting the browser does not log you out from Sync.


Delete synced data

To delete synced data from the servers:

  • Open Sync Settings;
  • Make sure you’re logged in;
  • Click on Reset Remote Data.
  • In the pop up, click on Clear Sync Data;

You will need to make sure that you have all your data client side before doing this to avoid losing data. Note that the data will be re-uploaded if you choose to run sync again in the future.

If, in addition to clearing the data and logging out of Sync, you’re also thinking of deleting your Vivaldi account, please note that when the account is deleted, you will also lose access to all other Vivaldi Community services such as webmail, forum, and blogs and all the data will be deleted. If you still wish to proceed, follow the instructions on our help page about deleting Vivaldi accounts.


Change or reset your account login password

If you wish to change your login password, log in on Vivaldi.net, go to your profile (top right corner) and change it there. In case you’ve forgotten your password, send yourself a password reset email. Note that if you have chosen to use the same password for login and encryption, changing your login password will not automatically change your encryption password and you will have to do this separately.


Change or reset your encryption password

If you’ve forgotten your encryption password or want to change it:

  • Open Sync Settings;
  • Log into your Vivaldi account;
  • Click on the I Lost My Password button;
  • In the pop up, click on Clear Sync Data;
  • Then Start Sync again and enter a new password.

Your data will be deleted from Vivaldi’s Sync servers and re-uploaded from the computer you’re using once you enter a new password. In case the synced data isn’t stored locally on any devices (e.g. after a OS reset), the synced data will unfortunately be lost when resetting the encryption password.


Get help

Check the help page for Troubleshooting Sync issues and file a bug report if necessary. The forum is a also great place for getting answers to your questions.

Was this page helpful?