User profiles allow multiple “users” to share one Vivaldi installation, without requiring you to log in to a different operating system user account, or maintain multiple Standalone installations.

Each profile can have a different set of Extensions, Bookmarks, Speed Dials, Cookies, History, etc.  In addition, each profile can have its own look and configuration (Keyboard Shortcuts, Mouse Gestures, etc.).

If a second profile is needed only briefly, for example, for a friend to use your browser (without messing up your setup or interacting with your open tabs), use a temporary Guest Profile.

Add a new Profile

  • Click on the Profile button in the top right corner of the browser window and select Manage Profiles.
    Alternatively, go to Settings > Address Bar > Profile Management and click on Manage Profiles.
  • Click on Add Person at the bottom of the poput menu.
  • Pick a name for the new profile and select an avatar.
  • Click Add.

Adding a new profile from the Profiles menu

Switch between profiles

  • Open the Profile menu and click on the profile you want to open.

Profile popout menu for switching profiles

Delete a Profile

To remove a profile:

  • Open the Profile menu and select Manage Profiles;
  • Click on the user you want to delete;
  • Before you delete the profile you’ll see information about the profile, such as the number of Bookmarks and saved Passwords;
  • Click Remove Person to permanently delete the profile and all its data.

Removing a user profile popout menu

Hide the Profile button

If you don’t want to use the multiple profile feature and don’t want the button to clutter your Address Bar, open Settings > Address Bar > Profile Management and untick the box for Show Profile Button.

Sync Profiles

To Sync profile data across devices, currently, a separate Vivaldi account is needed for each profile.

 


Further reading

How to separate work and play on the same PC