Customize application and context menus
In Vivaldi, you can customize the commands in the main application menu as well as in various context menus to fit your workflow.
In Vivaldi, you can customize the commands in the main application menu as well as in various context menus to fit your workflow.
To import data from a Vivaldi on another device, we recommend using the browser’s Sync feature. Continue reading to learn how to import data from other browser and from files on your computer, including alternative ways to transfer data between Vivaldi browsers.
To import Bookmarks from another browser on the same computer or from an HTML file,
Depending on the source browser, you can import other browser data, such as Passwords and History, at the same time as well.
To export bookmarks:
The file will be saved as an HTML file.
Vivaldi menu > File > Import from Applications or Files;To import passwords from .csv file:
To export passwords from Vivaldi:
Important! Storing passwords in a .csv file will make them visible to anyone with access to the file.
In addition to Bookmarks and Passwords, from most browsers, you can also import your browsing History.
Vivaldi menu > File > Import from Applications or Files.To bring over the tabs you have open in other browsers:
Vivaldi menu > File > Import from Applications or Files.At this stage, importing tabs works only from Chromium-based browsers (Chrome, Edge, Opera, Brave, etc.).
To import notes:
Alternatively:
All applicable files in the folder will be imported as notes to Vivaldi.
To export your notes:
Alternatively:
All notes will be saved as separate text (.txt) or markdown (.md) files.
To import a Reading List:
Alternatively:
To export your Reading List:
Alternatively:
You can import Extensions to Vivaldi from other Chromium-based browsers, for example, Chrome, Edge, Opera, etc.
To import Extensions:
Vivaldi menu > File > Import from Applications or Files.To learn how to import and export feeds to and from Vivaldi’s Feed Reader, take a look at the Help page about it here.
We strongly recommend using Sync and Export/Import options within the browser to transfer data from one Vivaldi to another. In case you want to import more data than can be synced, you can copy and replace the full profile folder. To transfer only some data types, move to the next paragraph.
To locate the profile folder:
To move the profile from one Vivaldi to another:
Important! Saved passwords and cookies will not be transferred when moving the profile between computers or users on the same computer. You must only move — and not make a copy — of an existing profile. Two copies of Vivaldi cannot run from the same profile — even on different computers! The profile contains identifiers that must remain unique between your installations. Services like Sync and Mail Accounts with OAuth will not work when two instances of the same profile is used.
While Vivaldi is closed you can replace files in the profile folder, with the same files from Vivaldi’s or another Chromium-based browser’s profile folders.
Before trying to import data this way, we recommend making a backup of your current profile folder just in case.
To locate the profile folder in Vivaldi:
Refer to the other browser’s Help documentation to locate its profile folder.
With this method, you can import the following data:
One option to hide the user interface is to go into full screen mode, but then the Tab you have open will be the only thing you see on the screen. An alternative is to hide just the browser’s toolbars. Continue reading to learn how to hide the toolbars all at once and one by one.
To hide all user interface toolbars at once:
To show the user interface again, follow the same steps as for hiding it.
To hide all user interface toolbars at once:
To show the user interface again, follow the same steps as for hiding it.
To hide all user interface toolbars at once:
To show the user interface again, follow the same steps as for hiding it.
To hide the Tab Bar:
To hide the Address Bar:
To hide the Panel bar on the side of the browser:
Vivaldi menu > View > Show Panel.To hide the Status Bar:
Vivaldi menu > View > Show Status Bar.To hide the Bookmark Bar:
Vivaldi menu > View > Show Bookmark Bar;To show the hidden Tab, Address, Status Bar or the Panel again, follow the same instructions as for hiding them.
To hide or move buttons on the toolbars, take a look at our help page about Editing Toolbars.
In case you can’t log in to your account, first make sure you’ve typed the username and password correctly.
If you’re having trouble remembering your username, send yourself a reminder here: https://login.vivaldi.net/profile/id/recoverAccount.
In case you’ve forgotten the login password, reset it here: https://login.vivaldi.net/profile/id/userInfoView.
If you try logging in with the wrong password at least 5 times, the account will get locked for 5 minutes as a security measure.
If login fails, you can also try whether login works to other Vivaldi services. For example, try logging in to your account’s profile on Vivaldi.net.
For our support team’s assistance, please send us a message at the end of this article and describe the issue in detail.
Vivaldi Webmail is a service for active Vivaldi Community members using Vivaldi’s services. This means that new users, who registered their account after 4th of May 2023, and users who registered between October 2019 and May 2023, but never verified their phone number, first need to build up a reputation to be granted access to the Webmail service.
The reputation system is replacing the previous requirement to verify an account via one’s phone, that was set up to limit the number of spam accounts. For additional information, read our blog post on the topic.
The account can be locked for a few reasons:
Occasionally, login won’t be possible, because the services are down. When downtime is needed due to scheduled maintenance work, we’ll notify everyone with a message sent to the account’s recovery email well ahead of time.
Sometimes accessing your mail won’t be possible, because something has suddenly stopped working. The team will do their best to solve these issues as soon as possible. In that case check Vivaldi’s Status page and keep an eye on the Webmail category on the Forum, where our team and volunteers will keep you updated with the latest news.
Sending messages
In case you can’t send messages or recipients claim they don’t receive them, please get in touch with us using the contact form at the end of the article.
If the messages refuse to send, tell us what the error message says.
If the message was sent, but not delivered, please also include the message headers. To get the message headers in Vivaldi webmail:
Receiving messages
In case you’re expecting an email from someone, but it isn’t delivered, please also get in touch with us using the contact form at the end of the article. In the message to our support team, in addition to your account information, please include the full email address and the date and time, you expected to receive the email.
In case you can’t access your mail in a mail client, double check the login settings (especially, if you’ve recently changed the password) and server settings in the mail client’s account settings. We’ve listed Vivaldi Webmail’s server settings for incoming and outgoing mail here.
To customise your Forum preferences:
You can edit the following settings:
Remember to Save any changes you make.
To flag posts that break our Code of Conduct:

Forum admins and moderators will review the flag and decide what to do next.
The Vivaldi Forum is moderated by Community Managers (Vivaldi employees) and Moderators (volunteers). They can move your topics if there’s a better category for them and they may also edit your post to clarify a point and/or remove parts that are not in line with our Community Guidelines and Terms of Use.
Community Managers and Moderators also have the right to delete inappropriate and duplicate posts, as well as, ban users either temporarily or permanently, who have broken the aforementioned rules and guidelines.
In case you have any questions or complaints regarding moderation, please contact one of the Community Managers in a private message on the Forum or through the contact form below.
Before you start a new thread, search the forum to see if there already is a discussion about the same topic. If there isn’t:
You can use simple formatting options available in the post editor, add links, images, and emojis. It’s also possible to style your post using Markdown formatting.
When reporting problems with the browser, tell us which platform and it’s version you are on, Vivaldi browser version, extensions (if any), system specification (CPU, RAM), connection type and architecture (X32 or X64), and give us the steps to reproduce your issue.
In addition to starting a general discussion topic, you can also mark your topic as a question. Question topics without a highlighted answer will have an Unsolved label in front of the topic title. When the topic starter or in some cases Vivaldi Forum Moderators have chosen the best answer, the topic will have a Solved label in front of the topic title and a copy of the best reply will be displayed below the first post. That way other Forum visitors with the same question don’t need to read through long threads to find the answer.
To mark your topic as a question:

When you forgot to mark the topic as a question when you started the new topic, you can still do it by editing your post.
To mark the topic as solved:

You can only highlight one reply.
To reply to the discussion in general, click on the blue Reply button at the top or bottom of the comment thread. To start a new discussion based on that topic, click on the small arrow next to the Reply button and select Reply as Topic. If the reply is meant for specific user(s), tag them by typing @ and their username in your comment.
To reply to a specific comment, use the Reply and Quote options next to the comment.
In case you want to add something to your comment or just want to fix an accidental typo:

To delete your post:
post menu on the right (next to the upvote button).When you create or reply to a topic, you’re automatically added as a watcher to these topics and will get a notification, when someone comments in the same thread.
To stop receiving notifications:
To change notification settings globally:
With thousands of topics on the Vivaldi Forum, it’s easier to use Search to find what you’re looking for rather than browse through all the categories. It’s also important to search before you post a new topic (especially a feature request) as the same question may already be discussed in a different thread.
To do a simple search:

With Advanced Search, you can filter out irrelevant results.
To do an advanced search:
Option 1
Option 2

In case you’re browsing the Forum in a smaller window (phone, Web Panel) and see the mobile view of the Forum, to search:
To get only the most relevant results, we suggest narrowing down your search using the various search options available on the Advanced Search page.
You can search:
Choose whether the results need to match:
You can narrow the search results by:
You can sort results in both ascending and descending order by:
You can display the results as:
In case you do similar searches often, you can speed up the process by saving your search preferences. That way, every time you do a simple or advanced search, it will use your preferences to narrow down the results.
To save your search preferences:
To clear search preferences:

To find Forum discussions quickly even when you don’t have the Forum open, add Forum’s search as a custom search engine in your Vivaldi browser.
To add Forum’s search as a custom search engine:
Search button in the top right corner of the page;To learn more about search in Vivaldi and custom search engines, take a look at the help page about Search.
To look for users, go to the Users tab on the (blue) forum menu. There you can see who’s online, who has posted the most and users with the highest reputation, as well as search for users when you know the username.
If you’re not looking for a specific user, but someone in a certain role, such as Community Managers or Moderators go to the Groups tab and browse through the groups.
To receive notifications when a user starts a new thread, follow them by going to their profile and clicking on the + button on the edge of their avatar. You can view all your followers and the people you follow on your profile from the menu on the edge of the cover image > Following / Followers.

Sometimes things go wrong and instead of achieving your goal, an error message is shown. In this article, we’ve listed common error messages shown when using Vivaldi services doesn’t go according to plans and suggestions for solving the issue.
Browse through the list to find a solution to the error you’re seeing. In case you need our assistance, use the contact form at the end of this article.
“Login failed! Please recheck the username and password and try again.”
This error is shown when the username or password haven’t been written correctly or the account doesn’t exist. For example, the account was deleted by the owner or due to inactivity.
“Your account hasn’t been confirmed yet.
Please check your email for the confirmation link.
If you haven’t received it or it has been more than 48 hours since you registered, you can resend the code here.“
Before logging in to your new Vivaldi account, it needs to be activated with a code in the email that was sent to the email address you gave as the recovery email in the registration form.
When you can’t see the email in your Inbox, check also the Spam folder. In case you can’t find the email or the link has expired request a new code.
If you activated the account, but still see this error, wait a few minutes and try logging in again.
If you made a typo in the email address or gave an invalid email, please send us a message using the contact form at the end of this article, so we can fix it for you.
“Login failed. It looks like you’ve forgotten the password.
Would you like to reset the password?”
In case the username is correct, but the password is not, then after the 4th failed login attempt you’ll get this error message, suggesting you to reset the password.
If you try logging in one more time and it also fails, the account will get locked for 5 minutes as a security measure.
“Your account has been temporarily locked as a result of multiple unsuccessful log in attempts. Please reset the password in 5 minutes.”
After the 5th failed login attempt the account gets locked for 5 minutes. You’ll need to wait out these few minutes, after which you can send yourself a password reset email.
“This account has been locked.”
Seeing this error means that the account was most likely locked for breaking Vivaldi’s Terms of Use.
Some blocking, for example due to misbehaviour on the Forum, is done manually by Forum admins and moderators. Other, such as spamming in Webmail, is mostly done automatically by our antispam filters.
If you believe the account was locked in error, please send us a message using the contact form at the end of this article.
“Can’t verify the user.
Something went wrong.
If this error keeps appearing, please contact us.”
We’ve confirmed that an extension called Dark Reader breaks functionality on Vivaldi.net’s account related pages, resulting in this error message being shown. If you use this extension or any others, please disable them temporarily (you might also have to restart the browser) and try again.
If you don’t use extensions or the error persists, please try the same action in a Private Window or Guest Profile to rule out other browser settings causing this issue. If that doesn’t help either, please send us a message using the contact form at the end of this article.
Access denied. More info here.
In some mail clients the message is:
Your account does not have permission to access mail services.
Vivaldi Webmail is a service for active Vivaldi Community members using Vivaldi’s services. This means that new users, who registered their account after the 4th of May 2023, first need to build up a reputation to be granted access to the Webmail service.
Reputation is built by actively using other Vivaldi.net services – the Forum, Vivaldi Social, Blogs, Themes, and the browser’s Sync feature.
The reputation system is replacing the previous requirement to verify an account via one’s phone, which was set up to limit the number of spam accounts. For additional information, read our blog post on the topic.
Login failed
This error is shown when the username or password have been written wrong or the account doesn’t exist. For example, the user deleted the account or it was deleted due to inactivity.
Your account is locked. Contact support if you believe this to be in error.
Seeing this error means that the account was most likely locked for breaking Vivaldi’s Terms of Use.
If you believe the account was locked in error, please send us a message using the contact form at the end of this article.
Your account has been locked due to numerous failed login attempts. Please reset your password to continue.
Some mail clients, like Vivaldi Mail, show more detailed error messages.
When you see this error message, reset the login password on Vivaldi.net to log in again.
Post content was flagged as spam by Akismet.com.
Occasionally, the spam prevention tool, Akismet, doesn’t like something and refuses to publish the post.
In case you haven’t posted before, try leaving a comment in an existing discussion before starting a new topic. Also, try not to include many, if any links in the post.
You could also try posting from a Private Window, Guest Profile, or a new User Profile, perhaps an Extension or some setting is causing the issue.
As a last resort, you could also try from a different device and/or from a different internet connection.
Sorry, but this blog has been marked as spam as defined in our Terms of Service.
If you believe this decision was made in error you may contact us with your detailed reasons using the form below:
Some blogs are marked as spam manually by the Vivaldi team, who review the blogs to make sure inappropriate content isn’t posted on Vivaldi.net.
We also use an automatic spam prevention tool, that can mark blogs as spam. In rare cases, the tool can mark an innocent blog as spam.
In case your blog has been marked as spam and you’ve followed our Terms of Use, please get in touch with us using the space below the error message or the contact form at the end of this article.
Vivaldi.net rejected your credentials: Authentication failed for YourUsername (400).
This error is shown when the username or password have been written wrong or the account doesn’t exist. For example, the user deleted the account or it was deleted due to inactivity.
Vivaldi.net rejected your credentials: 17003 User account is locked for user: YourUsername. cannot log in until the account is unlocked (400).
This error message could mean the following:
In case you need our help accessing your account, please send us a message using the contact form below.
QR (Quick Response) Codes are an easy way to share links and other information. With Vivaldi’s QR Code scanner on Android you can quickly scan QR Codes and barcodes to open links, menus, payment screens, apps and get specific information unique to the code without the need to type anything. In addition to scanning, you can also create codes to share links.
There are three ways to access the QR Code scanner:
To scan a QR code:

If the scanner detects a URL, it’ll automatically open the link in a new tab. In case it detects some other information, it offers to copy the information or to do a search with it.
To create a QR code: